Reporting Protocol and Forms


How to Report Abuse

If danger is imminent, call DFCS at 1-855-422-4453 and if no answer, call 911.

Official Forms

DFCS Protocol / Home Alone Checklist (Form JG-1)

Guide to Making a DFCS Report (Form JG-2)

GCPS Mandated Reporter Form (Form JG-4)

School Social Work Department

514 Glover Street

Marietta, GA 30060

Phone: 678-581-6811

Fax: 678-594-8731

If abuse or neglect is suspected, the Department of Family and Children Services (DFCS) must be immediately notified, but in no case later than 24 hours from the time there is reasonable cause to believe a child has been abused. All District employees and volunteers are mandated reporters.

  • Contact the person in charge of the facility or his/her designee.
  • If the designee is not available, the mandated reporter shall make the report on his/her own.
  • The principal or person in charge of the facility should be informed of the report (not given a copy of the report). We recommend that the email be sent to the principal and campus police officer that only includes the name of the student and that a report was made.
  • For reports on sexual cases Crimes Against Children “CAC” reports:
    • Crimes Against Children (CAC) Reports:
      • The school designee MUST contact Cobb County School District Police Department (CCSDPD) at 678-594-8620 to have them notify the local school’s police office and the appropriate law enforcement agency.
  • The mandated reporter can make a report using one of the following options:
    • Option One: An oral report by telephone to 1-855-422-4453. This is a 24-hour reporting line.
    • Option Two: A written report, Georgia Child Protective Services Mandated Reporter Form (Form JG-4), by electronic submission to cpsintake@dhs.ga.gov
    • No other email address should be used to cc: or bc: this email.
    • Option Three: Facsimile of Form JG-4 to 229-317-9663

The District employee should not call the student at home and ask about the suspected abuse; nor make any contact with any member of the student’s family unless the contact is with another student and is necessary to determine if reasonable cause exists to report this student may also be a victim of abuse.  Asking for more information than is necessary to make a DFCS referral may have negative repercussions on the student and the ability of law enforcement to handle the matter.  Refer to Questions Asked During CPS Process Form JG-2 for additional information. 

After Hours Reporting

Immediately call centralized Intake for the State of Georgia at 1-855-GA-Child (1-855-422-4453), weekdays after 5:00 pm, Saturday, Sunday, furlough days and holidays.

Complete Form JG-4 (Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect Report Form) and email to childabusereport@cobbk12.org. Notify the principal or person in charge of the facility.

This website is for informational purposes only and is not meant to constitute legal advice.